Apiary Fund Blog

All About The Major Market Opens

[fa icon="calendar"] Dec 10, 2019 6:00:00 AM / by Brigette Dumas

In my previous articles, I’ve gone into detail about how and why trading works for millions of people all over the world. Now, I think it's time to discuss all the different Forex trading sessions so you're well-informed in the best times of day you should be trading. The Forex market can be broken up into four major trading sessions which are: the Sydney session, the London session, the Tokyo session and the New York session. You can expect the following market and closing times during U.S. seasons:

Spring-Summer (March/April-October/November)

Sydney Market Open Close

Local 7:00 AM 4:00 PM

EDT 5:00 PM 2:00 AM

BST 10:00 PM 7:00 AM

Tokyo Market Open Close

Local 9:00 AM 6:00 PM

EDT 8:00 PM 5:00 AM

BST 1:00 AM 10:00 AM

London Market Open Close

Local 8:00 AM 4:00 PM

EDT 3:00 AM 11:00 AM

BST 8:00 AM 4:00 PM

New York Market Open Close

Local 8:00 AM 5:00 PM

EDT 8:00 AM 5:00 PM

BST 1:00 PM 10:00 PM

You can expect to see the following market open and closing times during U.S. seasons:

Fall-Winter (October/November-March/April)

Sydney Market Open Close

Local 7:00 AM 4:00 PM

EDT 3:00 PM 12:00 AM

BST 8:00 PM 5:00 AM

Tokyo Market Open Close

Local 9:00 AM 6:00 PM

EDT 7:00PM 4:00 AM

BST 12:00 AM 9:00 AM

London Market Open Close

Local 8:00 AM 4:00 PM

EDT 3:00 AM 11:00 AM

BST 8:00 AM 4:00 AM

New York Market Open Close

Local 8:00 AM 5:00 PM

EDT 8:00 AM 5:00 PM

BST 1:00 PM 10:00 PM

It’s important to keep in mind that open and close times will vary during months October/November and March/April in some countries like the U.S., England, and Australia due to daylight savings time. You might assume that Sydney’s open would only move 1 hr when the U.S. adjusts for the standard time but when the U.S. 1 hr back, Sydney moves 1 hr forward.

This might sound so confusing, but keep in mind that Australia has opposite seasons than the US. This is all good information to have if you ever consider trading in this time period. The busiest times for day trading are when the summer London session and the Tokyo sessions overlap, and the summer/winter London session overlaps with the New York sessions.

Naturally, these are the busiest trading times because there is more volume going through the market being open at the same time, causing an interest for traders everywhere. Statistics will show that typically, the London session provides the most movement for traders which makes sense because our head trader at The Apiary Fund, Shawn Lucas, loves to trade at this time. Shawn Lucas always encourages our Apiary Fund trading community to continue educating themselves when it comes to the market because the market is constantly evolving and as traders. It’s always wise to continue to brush up and inform yourself along with it.

 

 

Topics: shawn lucas, trading tips, currency market, market events, market opens

Brigette Dumas

Written by Brigette Dumas

Subscribe to Email Updates

Lists by Topic

see all

Posts by Topic

see all

Recent Posts